Periana, Cooper and Butler highlight 47th Awards Banquet

Periana, Cooper and Butler highlight 47th Awards Banquet

OAKVILLE, Ont. — The Sheridan Athletics and Recreation department celebrated their 2015-16 varsity season with the 47th Annual Athletic Banquet, where men's basketball player Dylan Periana, men's volleyball player Josh Butler and women's soccer player Kendra Cooper were named Athletes of the Year.

"This is one of the single most important days on our annual calendar," Athletic Director Jim Flack said. "All of our student-athletes invest so much physically, mentally and emotionally over the course of the year that it really is great opportunity to celebrate their achievements."

Now a two-time Academic All-Canadian, women's volleyball player Dimitra Stathakos took home the night's top prize as the recipient of the Student-Athlete Academic Achievement Award, given to the Bruin who best excels both competitively and academically.

Women's basketball player Olivia Rodriguez was given the Rob Till Leadership Award for her continuing efforts to represent the Double-Blue within the Sheridan community.

Student-Athlete Academic Achievement
Dimitra Stathakos, women's volleyball

Male Athlete of the Year
Dylan Periana, men's basketball
Josh Butler, men's volleyball

Female Athlete of the Year
Kendra Cooper, women's soccer

Rob Till Leadership
Olivia Rodriguez, women's basketball

Coach of the Year
Tamara Dixon, women's rugby

Passion in Effort
Solinda Ros, women's rugby
Jeremy Fantin, men's volleyball

Sheridan Sun Most Newsworthy Athlete
Carly Donaldson, women's rugby

Men's Basketball
MVP • Dylan Periana
Coaches Award • James Carlin

Women's Basketball
MVP • Jennifer Saltarelli
Coaches Award • Olivia Rodriguez

Men's Soccer
Outdoor MVP • Manuel Morgado
Indoor MVP • Ian Nanco
Outdoor Coaches Award • Darren Khedoo
Indoor Coaches Award • Iain Boar

Women's Soccer
Outdoor MVP • Kayla McPherson
Indoor MVP • Victoria Folch
Outdoor Coaches Award • Balpreet Bal
Indoor Coaches Award • Kendra Challis

Men's Volleyball
MVP • Josh Butler/Jeremy Fantin
Coaches Award • Chris Adams

Women's Volleyball
MVP • Dimitra Stathakos
Coaches Award • Amanda Manley

Men's Rugby
MVP • Jad Hamade
Coaches Award • Ian Alishaw

Women's Rugby
MVP • Leah Toffelmire
Coaches Award • Taylor Quigley

Cross Country
MVP • Tyler Pacana/Erin Kinninmont
Coaches Award • Alex Ball