Bruins celebrate 2017-18 season at 49th annual Athletic Banquet

Bruins celebrate 2017-18 season at 49th annual Athletic Banquet

OAKVILLE, Ont. - The achievements of all Sheridan student-athletes were celebrated Friday at the 49th annual Athletic Banquet, with Jad Hamade (men's rugby) and Joelle Parnham (women's volleyball) taking home Athlete of the Year honours.

Hamade was one of the biggest winners on the night, being named men's rugby MVP and Sheridan Sun Most Newsworthy Athlete, in addition to Male Athlete of the Year.

Holding every possible team record for points - single game, season, and career - he now holds the distinction of being the first rugby player to be named Sheridan Athlete of the Year.

It adds three honours to Hamade's season resume that already included OCAA Championship MVP, OCAA All-Star, OCAA leading scroer, while twice nabbing OCAA men's rugby athlete of the week.

Parnham, meanwhile, was integral in the women's volleyball team making their deepest post-season run in the last two decades.

The fifth-year setter paced the Bruin attack on their way to an 11-7 regular season record, before bowing out in the OCAA semi final.

She established a new single-season team record with 478 assists, and is also the team's all-time assists leader.

Chris Adams (men's volleyball) and Erin Kinninmont (women's cross country) were named the Academic-Athletic Achievement award winners, as the two student-athletes who excelled most in the classroom and competitively. 

Adams culminated his five-year Sheridan career with his second straight CCAA Academic All-Canadian award, the first two-time winner in Sheridan history.

He also took home men's volleyball MVP honours, joining Jeremy Fantin and Rob Brown as the only players in team history to have won both MVP and the Coaches Award. 

Kinninmont finished 19th in the OCAA Championship, helping the women's team qualify for the national championship for the first time. 

She has improved her placing at the championship run in each of her three seasons - placing 42nd in 2015 and 21st in 2016 - and was named the women's team MVP for a second straight year.

Athletes of the Year

Jad Hamade, men's rugby
Joelle Parnham, women's volleyball

Academic/Athletic Excellence
Chris Adams, men's volleyball
Erin Kinninmont, women's cross country

Rob Till Leadership Award
Camila Orellana, women's basketball

Coach of the Year
Rick Bria, men's rugby

Men's Basketball
Leroy Cassanova Most Valuable Player, Nick Campbell
Coaches Award, Nav Deol

Women's Basketball
MVP, Brianna Stewart
Coaches Award, Sydney Charvis

Cross Country
Men's MVP, Cole Bond
Women's MVP, Erin Kinninmont
Men's Coaches Award, Matt Reeve
Women's Coaches Award, Marla Brown

Men's Rugby
MVP - Jad Hamade
Coaches Award - Alex McCallion

Women's Rugby
MVP, Carah Hager
Coaches Award, Dara Killoran

Men's Soccer
Outdoor MVP, Francis Ameyaw
Outdoor Coaches Award, Frederick Ameyaw
Indoor MVP, Kendrick Morales
Indoor Coaches Award, Daniel Pereira

Women's Soccer
Outdoor MVP, Savanna Wood
Outdoor Coaches, Kendra Challis
Indoor MVP, Marianna De Fina
Indoor Coaches, Paige Dugay

Men's Volleyball
MVP, Chris Adams
Coaches Award, Ricky Davids

Women's Volleyball
MVP, Joelle Parnham
Coaches Award, Dana Renfrew