Draw announced for 26th Sheridan Cup boys high school basketball tournament

Draw announced for 26th Sheridan Cup boys high school basketball tournament

BRAMPTON, Ont. - The draw for the 26th edition of the Sheridan Cup boys high school basketball tournament was announced today, with some of the best basketball programs in the GTA set for a showdown at the Sheridan College Davis Campus gym on the first two days of February.

"We are looking forward to some great competition with another really strong field this year," Sheridan athletic director and men's basketball head coach Jim Flack said. "This is always one of the key dates on our calendar and that importance increases as we are nearly into a third decade since it began."

This year's tournament features a slightly altered format with six teams comprising two Pools. Each team will play three preliminary games, with the two teams with the best records advancing to the championship game. 

Pool A: Brampton Centennial, Campion, Louise Arbour
Pool B: St. Martin, Notre Dame, David Suzuki

Feb. 1
2:00pm: BCSS vs. David Suzuki

3:15pm: Campion vs. Louise Arbour

4:30pm: David Suzuki vs. Notre Dame
5:45pm: St. Martin vs. Louise Arbour
7:00pm: BCSS vs. Campion
8:15pm: Notre Dame vs. St. Martin 

Feb. 2
11:00am: BCSS vs. Louise Arbour
12:30pm: Campion vs. Notre Dame
2:00pm: St. Martin vs. David Suzuki

4:00pm: OCAA women's basketball - Sheridan vs. UTM

6:00pm: OCAA men's basketball - Sheridan vs. UTM

8:00pm: Sheridan Cup Championship Game

Previous winners

1994 Bishop Reding def. Martin Grove 66-47
1995 Morningstar def. St. Thomas Aquinas 72-63 (OT)
1996 Morningstar def. St. Thomas Aquinas 64-63
1997 Nelson def. Westwood 78-70 (OT)
1998 Morningstar def. Iona 61-55
1999 Burlington Central def. Nelson 41-38
2000 Nelson def. Port Credit 70-62
2001 Nelson def. Philip Pocock 44-34
2002 Nelson def. St. Augustine 51-47
2003 Nelson def. d'Youville 67-45
2004 Father Goetz def. Loyola 80-57
2005 Father Goetz def. Notre Dame 68-54
2006 Father Goetz def. d'Youville 75-62
2007 Father Goetz def. d'Youville 50-48
2008 Father Goetz def. d'Youville 67-53
2009 Father Goetz def. Loyola 77-67
2010 d'youville def. Campion 59-49
2011 Fletcher's Meadow def. d'Youville 61-49
2012 d'Youville def. Mount Carmel 45-43
2013 d'Youville def. Mount Carmel 55-38
2014 Campion def. d'Youville 55-45
2015 Father Goetz def. St. Marcellinus 68-66
2016 St. Marcellinus def. Campion 77-53
2017 Cardinal Ambrozic def. Campion 55-50 (OT)
2018 David Suzuki def. d'Youville 71-66

Winners by city

Mississauga (8)
Burlington (6)
Brampton (7)
Malton (3)
Milton (1)