Campbell named CCAA Player of the Year

Campbell named CCAA Player of the Year

Nick Campbell of the Sheridan Bruins is the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Men's Basketball Player of the Year.

"Nick has been a dominate force for the Bruins over the four years he has played there," said Jonathan Lambert, CCAA Men's Basketball Convenor. "He is now considered by Sheridan as one of the all-time starting five for that program."

Campbell joins Shane Bascoe (2000) as the only other Sheridan player to win the CCAA Men's Basketball Player of the Year award.

A member of the Sheridan squad that earned CCAA silver medals in 2017 and 2019, Campbell wraps up his collegiate career as the Bruins all-time leading scorer.

He ranked second in the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) this season with 24.6 points per game. The fifth-year guard also averaged 6.2 rebounds per game and added 48 assists and 41 steals.

Campbell led the Bruins to a 13-7 record and tie for fourth place in the OCAA West Division.

In addition to his historical achievements at Sheridan, Campbell developed into a leader who did the small things on and off the court with quiet fortitude.

"After averaging almost 25 points per game and leading the team in charges against this season, he is known by his teammates and coaching staff as a player who sacrifices himself for the betterment of his team," said Lambert.

Campbell also coaches in various youth basketball camps.

Other nominees for the CCAA Men's Basketball Player of the Year award were Courtney Anderson of the Douglas Royals (Pacific Western Athletic Association), Brock Dewsbery of the Lethbridge Kodiaks (Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference), Sébastien Lamaute of the Dynamiques de Brébeuf (Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec) and Jordan Holness of the Holland Hurricanes (Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association).

CCAA Player of the Year winners receive a customized ring provided by Jostens Canada, the Official Ring Supplier of the CCAA Championship banquet.


Article from CCAC.