Men's soccer shuts down Capilano to advance to national semi final

Men's soccer shuts down Capilano to advance to national semi final

CORNWALL, PEI - The Sheridan Bruins men's soccer team (9-1-5 OCAA) used a stout defensive effort and a pair of headed goals to shut out PacWest champion Capilano 2-0 and advance to the national semi final.

"This was one of our best performances of the year," head coach Andrew Seuradge said. "When we talk about 90 minute efforts, this is what we mean. I would like to see us be a little more clinical when we get opportunities in front of goal - I thought we let a couple slip away - but this time of year is like musical chairs. As long as you still have a seat when the music stops, you're doing something right." 

Sheridan was the clear aggressor in the opening half, controlling possession while building up methodical attacks and they were finally rewarded in the 41st minute. The Capilano back line sagged off of Freddie Ameyaw, and with loads of real estate in front of him, he stepped toward the box and rifled a shot that rang off the crossbar.

Francis Ameyaw collected the rebound and lofted it to Cyrus Rollocks who nodded it home for the 1-0 lead. 

Even with the solid first half, the Bruins nearly found themselves on level ground at the interval. A 45th minute turnover at midfield allowed Adrian Sahagun to get a step down the right wing, but he couldn't beat Chester Ashby.

Capilano found some added intensity in the second half and balanced out the play, but the Bruins still clung to the 1-0 edge into the late stages.

The game nearly took a two dramatic turns in the 85th minute when Rahim Thorpe had a breakaway denied by Hudson Nelles, while a Capilano cross on the ensuing counter attack was put over the bar. Sheridan put the game away three minutes later, with Manuel Morgado dropping a free kick from 40-yards out onto the penalty spot where Francis Ameyaw headed it in. 

Sheridan will face a conference champion for a third straight game when they square off against the RSEQ title holders from Ahuntsic, who beat the hosts from Holland 3-0 in their quarter-final.